Skip to content

The last 365 days…

February 11, 2016

A disappearing act? Lost in the wilderness? A return to the stone age? Where have I been over the last year? It took me a moment to find the answer myself. So, here I am taking a brief moment to reflect on the last 52 weeks…

When I last reported, I had just returned from New York and the chaperoning experience of a lifetime. Since then, my illustration workload has increased significantly. I have created the art for three books and begun work on three more. I have replaced two computers, a cell phone, a backpack, a car, a boat and my bunker gear and helmet at the fire department. I have visited Denver once, St. Louis twice and St. Paul more times than I can count. I spent the fall season and part of winter teaching fire safety to elementary school kids and am preparing to return to teaching for Minnetonka Center for the Arts for a large portion of 2016.

I have worked for a number of outstanding companies over the last year! They include Seed Learning, the Houston Public Library, United Methodist Publishing House, Red Sofa Books, Pauline Media and Norwood House Press. From these projects have been born three books, a collection of kid’s summer camp materials and an endless supply of educational materials for children around the world.

The highlight of 2015 was creating the art for a fantastic little picture book, published by Pauline Media. The book, written by Michelle S. Lazurek is titled “Mommy, Am I Strong?” I absolutely had a blast working on this book and I am happy to see it having some success. If you’d like to pick up a copy of the book, you can find it on Amazon and at any Pauline Media Bookstore.

The last 52 weeks have been an amazing adventure. And as I look at my to-do list for the next year, I expect things to keep ramping up. I have a lot of plans for this year and I can’t wait to share them all with you! The next book to hit the shelves is “classified” at the moment, but I look forward to telling you all about it as soon as I am allowed to do so. 🙂

Keep enjoying life and make sure your smoke detectors are working!

No comments yet

Send a message to Scott

