Skip to content

November News!

November 21, 2013

As the boat sits in storage and the frosty days of winter thrust a chill in to a rapidly graying sky, I sit in my cozy studio and take a few minutes between jobs to be thankful for the Minnesota art community. I am very proud to be part of a population that embraces art the way Minnesota does. I am also very honored to receive awards for the work I am doing as an artist.

AWARD WINNING IMAGE: The Magnificent Seven

AWARD WINNING IMAGE: The Magnificent Seven

In early November, I was awarded “Best Digital Illustration” by the Banfill Locke Center for the Arts, in Fridley, Minnesota. The image, “The Magnificent Seven” is my “comic-style” take on the story of seven shelties which make a “career” as herding dogs. The owner of these amazing dogs is Jean Beuning. Jean is also the owner of the Top Dog Country Club; a dog “resort” in New Germany, Minnesota.  I created the illustration as a commission for her. With a color comic-strip type flair, I built off of the real personalities of each of the dogs and placed them in to a story. I’m thrilled to hear so many people have considered this illustration a success.

Swamp, monster, rain, kid, umbrella, illustration, child, art, cartoon

AWARD WINNING IMAGE “The First Time I Met Swampfoot…”

Later in the month of November, I visited the Maple Grove Art Center (Maple Grove, MN) where I would be teaching a cartooning class to a group of Girl Scouts and Brownies. As I entered the art center, I saw my illustration, “The First Time I Met Swampfoot” hanging on the gallery wall. Affixed to the corner of the 18” x 24” image was a ribbon that read “Award of Excellence”. I had entered this piece in the 2013 Monster Show at the art center and almost forgotten about it. So, I must admit I was a bit surprised to see it. More so, I was honored when I saw the award.

It means so much to me to know that people in and out of the art community appreciate my art. I pour hours of energy, miles of passion and years of life experience in to every illustration I create. And it always feels great when somebody takes time to say “Hey, nice job!” I want to take a second to thank Banfill Locke Center for the Arts and Maple Grove Art Center for including me in their exhibits. And if you live in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, I recommend you visit each of these art centers from time to time. Both do a great job reaching out to the public, offering classes to children and adults and providing their respective towns with  a wonderful flavor (and variety) of art.

And…

HAVE A WONDERFUL THANKSGIVING!!!

No comments yet

Send a message to Scott

