Skip to content

One Fish. Two Fish. Silverstein and Seuss-ish.

March 15, 2013

March is the month of inspiration. More hours of sun, chirping birds and the promise of green grass coming soon (hopefully). Every once in a while, I stumble across a few lines from the guys who I call “the Awesomes”;  Dr. Seuss and Shel Silverstein. This almost always spirals me in to a misguided exploration of “quick writing”.

With these short writings I use very little form. I try to slap ideas down as quickly as they come and then sometimes I use them for inspiration on a future project. Over the past couple weeks, I have been using this type of writing as a morning warm-up before I dive in to my regular work load. I thought I’d share a few of these “poems” for all of you to enjoy or analyze or laugh at or whatever makes you happy. I hope you have a wonderful month! 🙂


March?  (a haiku)

And so the snow flies.

I’m glad it doesn’t snow flies,

Spiders would get fat.


Planted

My feet are on the floor

And now they’re on the door.

They’re on the wall. They’re in the hall.

They’re in the air. They’re over there.

My feet are nearly everywhere.

Except the ceiling;

I’m not tall enough to plant my feet up there.


Season Opener

Single kernels of  popcorn, splintering sounds of ash.

Balls fly outward, bound for the bleachers.

Visitors toast their heroes as each of them crosses the plate.

The manager’s walk to the mound projects the dreadful fate

Of the rookie who’ll be lucky if he pitches here next season.


Umbrella

Rain stopper, sun blocker;

Outside, you make life good.

But inside you’re a bad-luck maker,

Which is why you stand silent in the corner.

No comments yet

Send a message to Scott

