Skip to content

Illustration Friday: Lost

July 14, 2012

Greetings everybody! Wow, we have had a very hot summer. It’s 92 degrees today and they are talking about highs in upper 90’s by Monday. I guess I can leave the long-sleeve shirt in the closet for a few more weeks. 🙂

This week’s Illustration Friday topic is “lost.” I was never a fan of the tv show, “Lost”, but I did like Gilligan’s Island. So, I had a hard time coming up with a concept that didn’t include an island, a group of people wearing the same clothes day-after-day and coconut milk. After a little mind-searching, I eventually landed on the image we have here.

You might notice that I have been exploring my illustration style a bit lately. I have always been happiest when working with a pencil and most of my concept art is created on a good old-fashioned drawing board, then scanned in to the computer, where I finish the image in either Photoshop or Illustrator. More often than not, the transition from pencil to digital paint seems to suck the life out of the original image. So, in an effort to retain the original charm I find in my pencil work, I have begun experimenting with leaving the pencil work in the final image. I have done this with a number of images over the last few weeks and I feel this image is the best example I have so far. I hope you enjoy it! Have a great weekend! 🙂

telephone pole, lost, reward sign, dog, kid, boy, hammer, help, illustration, green, sad

“The Searcher”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. kyle finnerty permalink
    July 14, 2012 1:35 pm

    awesome stuff man love it
    atleast some1s been having a good summer, over in good ole england its been raining for 3 months straight…..not cool

    keep the work coming dude!

  2. marcie permalink
    July 14, 2012 3:04 pm

    That is so neat – you are such a great artist – wish you had not had to spend so much time in an office pushing a pencil – the world was missing out on your talent!!!!!!!!

  3. July 15, 2012 3:16 pm

    Oh no, a lost dog. Aaaah, so sad. And the poor kid looks so entirely dejected. Beautiful job on it. I’m sure there will be happy ending! (If not, don’t tell me!) Ugh, 90s here in Chicagoland too.

  4. July 16, 2012 4:08 pm

    oh poor baby! what an heart renching illo. Hope he finds his dog soon.

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend Lost In You | Tasithoughts's Weblog

Send a message to Scott

