Skip to content

Illustration Friday has a timely theme for the week…

May 18, 2012

This week’s Illustration Friday topic is “sight.” Fortunately for me, I have been working on “sights” for the last couple weeks.

As some of you may have heard, I have spent my last couple weeks designing sets for an animated short. The overall look of the animation is going to be similar to South Park, embracing a simplistic design. My job was to create a collection of sets which support a story of kids leaving a playground, taking a trip in a private jet and landing in a industrial area of China. The images I am sharing here are my pencil and color concept and the final image for the scene where the children arrive in China. Sticking to the simplistic design, I controlled the mood of each set by using bold color schemes. Here are the images. Hope you enjoy them! Have a great weekend! 🙂

animation, set, vector, background

China concept with color.

China, animation, set design, background,cartoon
The final set for Industrial China.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2012 3:41 am

    Like this a lot! (Greetings from China!)

  2. May 21, 2012 6:26 pm

    Very nice, I really like the color scheme you chose. I have a slight preference for the concept sketch and the slightly more recognizable structures in the distance, but the final may serve better as a set with fewer distractions.

    • May 21, 2012 6:58 pm

      I think I agree with you. I usually prefer the looseness that exists in a concept sketch. Thanks for your feedback. 🙂

Send a message to Scott

