Skip to content

Illustration Friday: “Return”

March 30, 2012

This week’s Illustration Friday topic inspired me to create an image depicting a story that undoubtedly has happened way too many times over the last ten years or so. When I saw the word, “return” I immediately thought of the thousands of US soldiers who have returned home after fighting in a war. Many of them, meeting their children for the very first time. Β Then, I thought of those who never return. Here is the image I came up with. I hope you all enjoy it. πŸ™‚

Purchase a print of “Waiting to Meet Dad” by following this link: Scott Spinks Poster Shop

war child, military, casualty, war Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, child, KOD

Waiting to Meet Dad

33 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2012 3:56 pm

    This is so sweet! Love it.

  2. March 30, 2012 4:20 pm

    The colours are warm yet nostalgic. I love looking at this. Thank you Scott for sharing this wonderful piece πŸ™‚

    Sincerely,
    Nadiah

  3. March 30, 2012 5:34 pm

    Perfectly sweet…and sad. Just lovely work.

  4. March 30, 2012 10:42 pm

    very emotionally touching. heartbreakingly beautiful.

  5. Crazy Cat Girl permalink
    March 31, 2012 3:12 am

    Beautiful and very bitter sweet. Really like the way the little girl looks really small in the overall composition but I find it’s the little touches, like the photo and the word ‘Dad’ carved in to the tree, are really heartbreaking.

  6. March 31, 2012 1:25 pm

    Lovely and sweet. I particularly like the big yellow ribbon and the village in the distance. Nicely done!

  7. kyle finnerty permalink
    March 31, 2012 1:37 pm

    lovely pic man, quite touching aswell as i have a few friends over in afghanistan atm

    great work once again πŸ™‚

    • April 2, 2012 7:21 am

      Thanks, Kyle! Seems like we all know somebody who is still over there. Hope they all get home soon. πŸ™‚

  8. March 31, 2012 2:15 pm

    Wonderful art, amazing, congrats

  9. April 1, 2012 7:33 am

    Wow, I had forgotten about yellow ribbons. Do people still do that? Great illustration, touching and nicely done. I love the photo in her hand, its a great touch.

    • April 2, 2012 7:23 am

      You know, as I worked on this image, I couldn’t remember the last time I saw a yellow ribbon on a tree. Growing up, I used to see one from time to time in the town we lived in. But, haven’t seen one in quite a few years…

  10. April 1, 2012 10:02 am

    Why don’t you just rip my heart out and be done with it? Lol…lovely picture and sad at the same time. It instantly brought to mind the Tony Orlando and Dawn song, “Tie A Yellow Ribbon Around The Old Oak Tree”…great job!

    • April 1, 2012 10:40 am

      Thank you, Donna. I have seen so many great comments about this image. I am very glad it means so much to those who have viewed it. Take care. πŸ™‚

    • April 2, 2012 7:24 am

      Oh yes, one of my mother’s favorite songs when I was growing up. Good memories. πŸ™‚

  11. April 2, 2012 9:34 am

    Wonderful illo even is so sad:)

  12. April 2, 2012 2:02 pm

    This is incredibly moving.

  13. April 2, 2012 8:18 pm

    Wow! awesome illustration! very heart felt.

  14. April 3, 2012 8:46 am

    Oh Scott, this is what so many families feel and you created the emotion perfectly.

  15. April 4, 2012 10:03 am

    Very nostalgic for me – I remember the yellow ribbons from my childhood. My town had them everywhere. Sweet, emotional piece. Wonderful details – from the photo to the carving in the tree. Brings a tear to my eye…literally.

  16. April 4, 2012 6:14 pm

    This is so pretty and moving and wonderful. Love it!

  17. April 6, 2012 7:27 am

    Oh that is so sad – even the yellow ribbon is drooping. Beautifully done though.
    But on a brighter note – congrats on being chosen for this week! πŸ™‚

  18. April 6, 2012 8:59 am

    Good for you! You got highlighted on IF. And it is a very touching piece.

  19. April 6, 2012 10:50 am

    Very touching! Well deserved pick of the week.

  20. Anonymous permalink
    April 6, 2012 11:02 am

    Veyr nice – I like the colors alot!

  21. April 6, 2012 4:12 pm

    This is very sweet and moving, great work!

  22. April 6, 2012 4:50 pm

    So sweet, and so sad. You interpreted the topic in such a great way. Well done! And congrats on being pick of the week πŸ™‚

  23. Aaron the Ogre permalink
    April 6, 2012 4:54 pm

    Congratulations on your pic. I enjoy your choice in color and the emotion depicted. I have been worried about this happening to my nephew and niece (my niece also being a ginger) with my brother being an active-duty special forces medic.

    Great wrk.

  24. April 6, 2012 5:59 pm

    I’m so happy you got picked. Well deserved!!

  25. April 7, 2012 3:37 am

    Very touching and a wonderful illustration. Congrats on being pick of the week on IF, that’s well deserved!

  26. Michele permalink
    April 9, 2012 10:48 am

    Congrats on pick of the week. it is a powerful, moving and beautiful piece!

  27. Sharon permalink
    April 10, 2012 2:08 pm

    I think I just felt a knot in my heart…this is beautiful! Thanks for sharing

  28. April 11, 2012 8:35 am

    its so sweet, I was filled with emotion and illustration represents it so well, congratulations

  29. April 13, 2012 4:43 am

    Great illustration simple and so touching

Send a message to Scott

