Skip to content

This week’s Illustration Friday image; Shades

March 16, 2012

This week’s topic for IllustrationFriday.com inspired me in a few different ways. I started looking at shadows, sunglasses and all kinds of things that might portray “shade” in a fun and cool way. I was reminded of the trip I took with my four friends to Kansas City over the summer. I call the trip “Vanned of Brothers” because we rode in a van together and the group was made up of me, my brother and two of our friends, who are also brothers. Get it? 🙂 So, during our trip, we stopped in Iowa and viewed the site where Buddy Holly’s flight crashed. Here is the photo:

Buddy Holly Crash Site

Buddy Crashed Here

However cool or funny this photo is, it provided very little inspiration for me for today’s Illustration. So, I ventured further in to my mind. I thought, shades, shade, shady, shade…and here is what I came up with. It has two titles; “Sorry Dude” is the sarcastic title. “Shades of Yesterday” is the sentimental title. Whichever title you prefer, I hope you enjoy the image and your weekend. 🙂

shade, tree, grass, boy, cartoon, illustration, child, trunk, sad

"Sorry Dude" or "Shades of Yesterday"

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2012 10:46 am

    Great little character! Boy, he makes that tree look big!

  2. March 22, 2012 10:10 am

    Great illo,love the character:)

  3. March 22, 2012 2:29 pm

    Wow! cool photo, Scott…and great illustration and concept! : )

Send a message to Scott

