Skip to content

Illustration Friday: YIELD (yes, I know it’s Sunday) :)

March 11, 2012

This week, my Friday was spent meeting with a very talented illustrator. Marilyn Brown, is the artist behind such terrific books as “The Station” and “The Christmas Pony.” I was fortunate to sit down with her for a couple of hours and discuss the children’s illustration industry. Marilyn, if you are reading this, thank you so much for making time to meet with me. I truly appreciate it. šŸ™‚

This week’s Illustration Friday topic is “Yield.” Immediately, I started thinking about street signs and I got on a super hero kick. So, here is the final image. Enjoy and have a great week enjoying the early, spring weather in Minnesota. (Unless, you’re not in Minnesota. If that’s the case, I highly recommend visiting Minnesota. We are having great weather!)

superheroes, cartoon, kids, illustration, comic, go girl, stop boy, yield,

Yield

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2012 6:10 pm

    Haha, great idea! Great expression on poor Captain Yield. Nicely done!

  2. March 11, 2012 7:48 pm

    Very original! Love the personification of “yield” as the somewhat uncertain thinker, while “stop” and “go” are all action!

    • March 12, 2012 6:59 am

      Aah yes, good old personification. My English teachers would be so proud to know I had been paying attention. šŸ™‚ Thanks, Rebecca!

  3. March 11, 2012 8:43 pm

    Here’s a word for you to try: ambiguous.

    : ) Have fun.

    • March 12, 2012 7:04 am

      Thankfully, I haven’t seen IllustrationFriday.com use that word yet. But, I’ll bet the day “ambiguous” is the word, a ton of great illustrations will result from it.

  4. March 12, 2012 6:03 am

    Love it! Think you’re onto something here…. šŸ˜‰

  5. March 15, 2012 11:57 am

    Aww! Wishy washy little Yield! Great take on the theme!

Send a message to Scott

