Skip to content

Illustration Friday: Capable

February 24, 2012

This week’s illustration Friday topic is “Capable.” I spent a lot of time brainstorming this topic, and I eventually landed on a concept that I think is kind of motivating. Many times in a person’s life, they are told by somebody else that they “can’t do something.” In fact, I spent a good chunk of my life convincing myself that there were many things I couldn’t do. Thankfully, some how, some way, many of us eventually find the energy and determination to look doubt right square in the eyes and say, “You’re wrong!”

When I had this idea, the first thing I though of was mankind’s first trip in to space. That idea had to be surrounded with doubters and nay-sayers. Well, if it’s possible for a silly illustration to inspire a person to ignore the doubters and chase a lofty dream, I hope this image does that for you. Have a great weekend everybody! 🙂 (BTW: The actual title of this image is ” Dari Takes Knuckle-Nose Home”

space, space ship, astronaut, girl, woman, female, alien, space, launch, helmet, luggage, cartoon, illustration, kid, story

Capable

alien, suitcase, travel, New York, space, astronaut

Closer Look at Knuckle-Nose

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2012 10:31 pm

    very well done 🙂

  2. February 25, 2012 8:52 am

    nice, love this

  3. February 25, 2012 9:23 am

    Scott, just showed your work to my husband, now we shall read together and admire your work!!!! Love it ~ Best to you this day

  4. Beth Anne permalink
    February 25, 2012 7:45 pm

    Adorable! LOVE knuckle-nose!!! I would love to take him home, too!

  5. February 29, 2012 4:47 pm

    She is adorable and I love the suit and proud expression. But that little green gremlin steals the show!

    • February 29, 2012 6:09 pm

      Thanks, Cindy! I have heard a lot of good comments about Knuckle Nose. I might have to use him again in the future. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  6. March 2, 2012 6:53 am

    Great job, Knuckle Nose is adorable!

  7. March 6, 2012 3:21 am

    This is brilliant work scott 😀

    absolutely love the green dudes expression added your site to my favourites now so i can see what you get up to lol

    just wondering what program do you use for colouring as i’m currently struggling to achieve a decent colouring grade at uni

    • March 6, 2012 7:25 am

      Hi there, Kyle! Good to hear from you! I use Photoshop for the majority of my color work. One suggestion I can give is to limit your color palette. I have created a collection of custom color palettes in Photoshop which help me to not over think the color schemes. Good luck to you…and stay in touch. 🙂

Send a message to Scott

