Skip to content

This Week’s Illustration Friday: Fluid (& Saturday at the Library)

February 17, 2012

Well, the weekend has arrived and Saturday is going to be a fun one. For those of you who have Saturday morning free, you should consider taking your kids to the Pierre Bottineau Library in Minneapolis. From 10:30am to Noon, the Children’s Book Illustrator’s Guild will be providing a “Story and Art Time” for the kids. I will be showing the kids how to draw dogs and some of our other members will be reading stories from their picture books. It’s a great reason to visit the library on what looks to be a terrific Saturday morning!

Here is my submission for this week’s Illustration Friday. The title of the image is “Fluid.” I hope you all enjoy it! πŸ™‚

polar bear, slurp, soda, kid, zoo, drink, water, swim, glow, child, illustration, bear, straw, bendy straw

Fluid

23 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2012 5:44 pm

    Love it! I love the interaction between the boy and the polar bear. So sweet.

  2. February 17, 2012 6:24 pm

    Very cool!! Love both the idea and the technical aspect!! How cute is this boy and white bear interaction!!?? πŸ™‚ Perfect!!

  3. February 17, 2012 6:47 pm

    I really love the mood of this illustration, very sweet!

  4. February 18, 2012 9:28 am

    love this idea πŸ™‚

  5. February 18, 2012 2:01 pm

    I like it too πŸ™‚ Beautiful!!!

  6. February 18, 2012 8:16 pm

    Scott, the interaction between the bear and the boy JUMPS out at me! What a fabulously lovely illustration!

  7. February 19, 2012 8:22 am

    Well done.

  8. February 19, 2012 9:30 am

    Haha, both are so cute! I really like what you’ve done with the water.

    • February 19, 2012 11:52 am

      Thanks, Cindy. I spent a lot of time trying to decide what to show and what not to show with the water. I feel like I found a nice simplification of what was going on. I’m glad you enjoyed the image. Take care! πŸ™‚

  9. February 20, 2012 12:44 am

    Nice work! So cute! Really like the composition.

  10. Gaia // Children's Illustrator permalink
    February 20, 2012 10:10 am

    Scott, we’re in the same *secret* facebook group:) I came across this link on IF and immediately recognized it! Great job!

    • February 20, 2012 10:17 am

      Hey there! Thanks for stopping by, Gaia. Always a pleasure to connect with fellow “secret society” members. πŸ™‚ Take care.

  11. February 20, 2012 2:08 pm

    Aww! I love it! Great use of line and lighting!

  12. February 21, 2012 3:59 am

    I really like your style Scott.
    Well done!

  13. February 21, 2012 9:21 am

    I love this!! Very wonderful. Swimming in fluid and drinking it. Perfect!!

    • February 21, 2012 11:09 am

      Thanks, Kat, for catching the double reference to “fluid.” πŸ™‚ I checked out your site and saw a lot of great work from you. My favorites were “separated” and “scary.” I really enjoy your use of color. Great job and thanks for visiting!

  14. February 22, 2012 4:44 pm

    This is really great. I Typically don’t comment, but I really enjoyed it

    • February 22, 2012 4:48 pm

      Wow, Katie! That is a great compliment coming from a “silent visitor”… πŸ™‚ I tend to be that way myself too. I can assure you, it is always a great feeling to get a handful of comments from visitors. I hope you will stop by and comment more often. Take care

  15. February 23, 2012 6:50 pm

    Oh my, this is awesome. I love the interaction. Makes me wonder where his mom is, soda that big, kid is going to have to pee soon. ( I have a 4 year old) Great illustration.

    • February 24, 2012 6:41 am

      Ha! That’s funny! And probably a good point…I’ll make the cup smaller next time. πŸ™‚

  16. February 23, 2012 8:38 pm

    I love the expressions. Your illustrations are awesome Scott!

    • February 24, 2012 6:42 am

      Thank you so much. I appreciate your feedback. I hope you visit more in the future. Take care

Send a message to Scott

