Skip to content

Illustration Friday!

February 10, 2012

Welcome to the weekend, everybody! Here is my submission for this week’s Illustration Friday. The topic is “Popularity.”

For this image, I used a story I wrote a while back, intended for a children’s book. Without revealing too much of the story, I can tell you the story is about an artistic bat who grows more and more popular every time he paints. If you want to know more, the story will need to be published (wink wink to all the publishers out there who are looking for a fun and colorful kid’s story.)

Anyhow, here is the image. I hope you all enjoy it! πŸ™‚

bat, barn, artist, farmer, farmer's wife, reporters, news, paint, painting, kid's story, illustration, children

Popularity

7 Comments leave one →
  1. susan permalink
    February 10, 2012 8:51 pm

    Love your illustration!

  2. February 11, 2012 6:46 pm

    Great character design on the bat (and I HATE bats!) … very appealing.
    Also love the hands on the male figure – cool styling. Great illo!

    • February 12, 2012 3:18 pm

      Really appreciate the feedback on this image! Thanks for visiting…stop back often. πŸ™‚

  3. February 13, 2012 10:12 am

    I always admire illustrators. Yours is great. Good luck with finding a publisher.

    I stopped by from SCBWI to join your site. Hope you’ll visit mine. I’m at http://writegame.blogspot.com

    Hope to see you and your illustrations again.

    • February 14, 2012 8:26 am

      Thanks, C.! I’m glad you stopped by to check out my work. I do almost as much writing as I do illustrating; I find it clears my mind when I get in to an “art funk.” Trust me, illustrators have the same admiration for writers too. πŸ™‚ Take care

  4. February 14, 2012 7:17 am

    I really like your handling of the frame for this image. Using the silhouettes of the microphones and cameras is great.

    • February 14, 2012 8:30 am

      Thanks, Adrienne! The silhouette of the cameras and reporters was what I built the image around. With Illustration Friday art, I tend to go back and rework the images a little bit, so they can go in my portfolio. For this one, I will likely add more reporters to the bottom right of the image (to close the corner) and I might add a helicopter…for humor. πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by. Come back often.

Send a message to Scott

