Skip to content

Illustration Friday…TWIRL!!!

January 26, 2012

Here is my submission for this week’s Illustration Friday. The topic this week is “Twirl.” I know the twirling is subtle in this one, but I went with my first instinct and this was where I landed. I hope you all enjoy it!  🙂

Aliens, beamed up, boy, space, teddy bear, illustration, children, twirl, spiral, fall up

Twirl

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 5:36 pm

    Uh-oh. Twirling off into the unknown…looks like fun! Really great illustration.

  2. January 26, 2012 9:25 pm

    Love Twirl. I am a little late with the comment challenge – but I am going to keep on with the callenge

    • January 27, 2012 10:29 am

      I love the Comment Challenge. It has provided me with a lot of excuses to surf the Web and check out some great Blogs. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. January 26, 2012 9:29 pm

    love it! Your instincts served you well.

    • January 27, 2012 10:31 am

      Hey, thanks! I was thinking “twirl” the entire time, but it became kind of secondary to the overall image. I enjoyed creating though. Take care! 🙂

  4. January 27, 2012 11:03 am

    Nice Scott, I like the freefall/twirling feeling. I have done 3 drawings for IF. Would like to keep doing it but from week to week ya never know about timing. Hope to see more IF illustrations from you.

    • January 27, 2012 12:00 pm

      Thanks, Barb! I am considering building more into the image…like adding a spaceship to the top of the frame and maybe some dark landscape below the boy. But, for IF, this was all I had time to get done. I am looking forward to seeing your IF work…you have a great style!

      Take care. 🙂

  5. January 27, 2012 7:39 pm

    I love it – really powerful imagery. I almost think it’s better without too much detail – what’s lifting him up? What’s causing the teddy to twirl? All these questions make the work more powerful. Love the green too.

    • January 28, 2012 7:09 am

      Thank you so much for the great feedback, Magdalena! I tend to agree with you on the “leaving out detail” theory. As a viewer, I prefer to create my own story past the edge of the page. Thanks for visiting my site. Take care 🙂

Send a message to Scott

