Skip to content

BlueLines…

January 24, 2012

Here is a blueline character sheet for the main character in my current project.Boy, Sneak, Plea, Scared, Fear, Blue line, blueline, character sheet,

I like to use Prismacolor Col-Erase non-photo blue pencils for all of my concept sketches because they are soft and easy to work with.  I am not committed solely to the blue pencils, however. I also use red and green quite often. The three colors make it easier to add details to concept sketches, without the drawings getting too messy.

My favorite Col-Erase pencils is that they erase really well off of tracing paper and sketch paper. While I was in school, I had quite a few people tell me that erasing was a waste of time and it was better to just toss the paper and grab a new sheet. Personally, I think if you have the action and the emotion down on the first sheet, you should keep working it on that sheet until you get it right or until you tear a hole in the paper. (This message brought to you by the other, and often forgotten, end of your pencil).

Hey everybody! Have a great week! 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    January 24, 2012 6:09 pm

    fun sketches and cool to hear about some of the products you use in your art.

    • January 24, 2012 7:23 pm

      Thanks, Carrie! I will always stand by my old reliable non-photo blue pencils. 🙂

  2. January 25, 2012 1:54 am

    I like your sketches and the finished illustrations elsewhere in your blog. You may have provided details elsewhere but I’d like to learn more about how a pet, kid or adult might become a character in one of your cartoons.

    • January 25, 2012 2:05 pm

      It all depends on the request. I have had clients ask to have their young boy or girl made in to a super hero for a comic book-style illustration. I have taken pets and made comic strips about them and their family. Also, over the holidays, I created an image for a firefighter, simply taking the profile of the individual and placing him in a scene with The Firefighter’s Prayer. I come up with a concept for each piece by talking to the client and pulling out certain details that can make the image/story unique and personal. I love doing this kind of work because you get to do something entirely different every time. Thanks for asking. 🙂

Send a message to Scott

