Skip to content

Fun with birthday gifts….

January 17, 2012

My wife and I recently had dinner with some friends of ours. During dinner, we got to talking about charmingly incorrect phrases that get tossed around. One of the funnier statements we’d heard was “escape goat.” Now I can admit that I’m easily fooled in to saying certain words or phrases incorrectly, but this wasn’t one of them. As some of you might know (and the rest of you are about to learn), the correct phrase/word is “scapegoat.”  Who knew!?! 🙂

Fortunately for me and my artistic needs, this friend of mine was about to celebrate a birthday. So, I multi-tasked and use the inspiration I pulled from our conversation to create a birthday illustration for him. Here it is.scapegoat, goat, bonnie & clyde, bank robbers, comic strip, line art, illustration, funny, cops, police, robbers

After all of this, I got to thinking…there are probably many words or phrases which I say incorrectly. Maybe I should do more comics about those words…I wish I knew which words they were. 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2012 1:06 am

    How about “Sleep in Heavenly Peas? I’ve always wanted to see that one.

    • January 19, 2012 9:07 am

      HA! I can’t say I’ve ever considered peas to be heavenly. Good idea!

  2. January 18, 2012 5:47 pm

    What a great idea for a gift and for future comics. I’m sure there are tons of websites of funny things kids say that would fit into your theme. I can’t think of any off the top of my head, but I know I’ve laughed at plenty of things my kids have come up with.

  3. January 18, 2012 8:25 pm

    If we knew our own blind spots, they wouldn’t be blind.

  4. January 25, 2012 10:19 pm

    I love it. Humor is often found in the slightly misinterpreted statement.

Send a message to Scott

