Skip to content

ILLUSTRATION FRIDAY!!!

January 6, 2012

The topic for this week’s Illustration Friday is “Grounded.” I gave myself two hours to come up with a concept, pencil out an image and then paint it digitally. Here is my submission.

Illustration Friday, owls, farm, fence, birds, raptors, Spinks

Grounded

Illustration Friday is a Website for illustrators which posts a new topic every Friday. My Friday-morning warm-up routine follows this topic week by week. So, I will post more of these quick illustrations moving forward. Have a great weekend! šŸ™‚

32 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2012 11:10 am

    Very cute!

  2. January 6, 2012 11:25 am

    It is adorable. Especially that little owlet that sits and seems to be very surprised with his predicament.
    Poor mum…lots of work ahead.

  3. sdillon31 permalink
    January 6, 2012 3:26 pm

    This is great. Two hours? Impressive!

  4. January 6, 2012 5:08 pm

    What a wonderful piece. Congratulations! Now you should let one of us writers try our hand and writing a story using it. šŸ™‚

    • January 6, 2012 7:04 pm

      Thanks! I’m glad you enjoy it. I’d love to read your story for this one. šŸ™‚

  5. January 6, 2012 6:15 pm

    Love your take on the theme, Scott!! Lovely style, very cute and sensitive. I think you will enjoy IF… a bit addictive once you start participating, must advise you of it!! hehe

    • January 6, 2012 7:07 pm

      At this point, I will probably only be able to participate once per month or so. Need to make sure my projects don’t suffer on Fridays. šŸ™‚

      Thanks for the great feedback!

  6. January 6, 2012 8:34 pm

    great stuff! love the immediate nature of your painting on this – super fresh!

  7. January 7, 2012 11:28 pm

    Awww, I love the sweet little owls. And I’m very impressed that you completed this picture in two hours.

  8. January 8, 2012 5:53 am

    Smile inducing that is a definite.

  9. January 8, 2012 10:32 am

    Scott, I enjoyed this. Like the windmill in the distance too.

  10. January 9, 2012 5:35 am

    really nice, I love the owl stretching its neck to see the chicks.

  11. January 9, 2012 9:23 am

    I love your work, Scott! I’m glad I discovered your blog via the Comment Challenge! – Laurisa White Reyes (http://1000wrongs.blogspot.com)

    • January 12, 2012 1:02 pm

      Thanks for the visiting! I have found many great new blogs to visit, thanks to the Comment Challenge too. Take care. šŸ™‚

  12. January 9, 2012 10:09 am

    The little owlets are a hoot! Very nice, Scott! šŸ™‚

    • January 10, 2012 7:03 am

      A hoot. šŸ™‚ You’re so clever!

      Thanks for stopping by, Nina.

      Take care

  13. January 9, 2012 11:17 pm

    Great palette! Love the teeny owls.

    • January 10, 2012 7:05 am

      Thank you for your comment regarding the color palette. I really tried to portray an early morning where everything was clean and fresh. A little hard to do in the time I gave myself, but I’m glad to hear you appreciate the color choices. šŸ™‚

  14. January 10, 2012 1:34 am

    It is very cute, I love the movement of the little owls šŸ™‚
    Did you do this in 2 hours??
    I feel so lazy now XD

    • January 10, 2012 7:06 am

      Thanks for visiting my site, Ana. I try to use the Illustration Friday project as a warm-up on Fridays. So, I figure taking more than two hours would just distract me from the work I need to get done. Hopefully, these warm-ups will get better as I move forward. šŸ™‚

  15. January 10, 2012 3:50 pm

    I love the little dancing owlets.

  16. January 11, 2012 3:06 pm

    Wow! That’s what you come up with in only 2 hours? I gotta get much more efficient! LOL!
    Great concept. Great work šŸ™‚

    • January 12, 2012 1:06 pm

      šŸ™‚ I just checked out your site…really nice work! Love your comic strip work. It’s funny to hear someone talk about being more efficient who has talent like you. You have a great eye for simplicity of line. I could learn a lot from your work. Keep up the great art!

  17. January 12, 2012 3:10 pm

    Very nice Illustration, Scott! And in two hours…Wow! Here’s a story just waiting to be written. Glad I visited your blog through Comment Challenge.

  18. January 13, 2012 12:43 pm

    How fun! I would love to see the process start to finish!

    • January 17, 2012 4:45 pm

      I am considering putting a production video on YouTube when the next IF comes around. Great idea, by the way. šŸ™‚

  19. January 13, 2012 12:52 pm

    Very cute idea! I like the atmosphere details like the windmill.

  20. January 14, 2012 9:55 pm

    I think I relate most to the little owlet sitting on the ground. Fun picture!

  21. January 17, 2012 9:59 am

    Those owlets are so darn cute. I love the look of striving, and mom’s encouraging lean-in. What a great idea to give yourself a time limit – and wow, you sure did it! a.

    • January 17, 2012 4:44 pm

      Thanks for the great feedback! I have to set time limits for myself when it comes to the IF project, or I’ll work on it all day and get nothing else done. šŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting my site!

Send a message to Scott

