Skip to content

Aaron Zenz and his Z-kids…

July 25, 2011

Aaron Zenz is a children’s author and illustrator who five years ago created a blog project which gave four of his kids, known as the Z-kids an opportunity to post their own artwork on a blog called Chicken Nugget Lemon Tooty. For the five-year anniversary of the blog, Aaron has invited adult artists to pick their favorite Z-kid piece of art and recreate it.

What an awesome idea!

So, for my first day back in the studio after a short golf/baseball vacation, I thought this would be a fun way to get my mind and my hand back in the swing of things. I chose a great drawing created by Lily, inspired by the idea of the boy riding the leafy-beast in the book, “If you lived here, you’d be home by now.”

When I saw her drawing, I saw the monster as a multi-colored, hairy beast with a big smile. Here is the great drawing Lily created and my own take on her drawing. Enjoy. 🙂

If you lived here, you'd be home by now redraw of by Lily drawing

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 25, 2011 4:32 pm

    Outstanding! I am working on something for the Z-Kids, too. They are a darling bunch! 🙂

Send a message to Scott

