Skip to content

For Mom on Mother’s Day…

May 8, 2011

Clean your room by Scott Spinks

Three years and counting since you told us good-bye.
No matter how long, we still wonder why.
You were taken from us so soon.

But I know in due time we will all meet again.
And your hugs will be as good as they were back then.
Until then, we’ll try to keep life in tune.

I can still smell the soup you made from scratch
And I can still here you tell me my outfit doesn’t match.
When the fridge stands wide open and the TV’s too loud,
I can still hear you whisper “turn the sound down.”

I still take showers that are much too long
And I can’t help but roll my eyes when your soap operas are on.

Every once in a while, I’ll go “deodorantless.”
And though it’s hard for me to admit, I must confess,
My room is still a mess.

When you were still here, these things made you crazy
But, I want you to know, it’s not ‘cause I’m lazy.
I try to do things that will show you I’m fine;
Remind you I care and you’re on my mind.

So when I leave my dirty socks on the floor,
It’s not that I’m lazy and it’s not that I’m bored.
It’s an invite for you to stop by and say “hi”
And tell me to clean my room one more time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    June 12, 2011 9:59 am

    Hi Son, just found your website and read to poem to Mom……Awesome! My computer is working fairly well today but now my keyboard is wet after reading the poem. I agree with your words and look forward to seeing Mom again…..Love, Dad

Send a message to Scott

