Skip to content

Hooked; the Shark Dr.

September 23, 2012

In just a few weeks, I will be putting the finishing touches on my current picture book project. While working on larger projects like this one, I try to make time every now and then to take a step back and clear my head. This weekend, I redirected a few hours toward a personal project.

For some time,  I have had a concept for a picture book which I never real found time to develop.  This weekend, I made time to work on it a little bit more. The concept is called “Hooked: The Shark Doctor is In.”

When working on picture book concepts, I generally start with pencil sketches. After a little searching with the pencil, I land on a concept and then scan it in to the computer.

 

I was pretty happy with the sketch, so I did a value study with it (to help find the lighting and such). All seemed to be going pretty well, but then I realized I wasn’t getting the “vastness” of the ocean floor I was looking for. So, I decided to step away for a minute. As I stood back from my desk and looked at the image, I realized where I had gone wrong. If I wanted to be in this environment (the bottom of the ocean), I needed to pull back so I could see it. So…

“The Doctor is In”

This is where I landed with the final image. By pulling back, I was able to have fun with the scene and still tell the story. I hope you all enjoy it! Have a great week! :)

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2012 9:24 am

    Looks wonderful! The light coming through the water looks great!

  2. October 15, 2012 9:09 am

    So beautiful:)

  3. October 15, 2012 9:30 am

    Great work! The lighting is beautiful! Lovely use of complementary colors too!

Send a message to Scott

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

