Skip to content

Illustration of the Week…

August 20, 2012

As some of you might know, I have spent the last two+ weeks working primarily on my latest picture book project, and the deadline is drawing closer…So, I haven’t spent too much time working on side projects and such. However, I am working on a pair of smaller projects which are helping to keep my hand and my mind loose.

One of those projects is for my dog’s favorite vacation spot; Top Dog Country Club in New Germany, MN. Along with having a great resort for dogs, Top Dog also does a lot of amazing work for rescue dogs. They have an event coming up in October which I will share more information about as the time gets closer. So, to do my part, I am writing a short story about two awesome goldenĀ retrievers. I met these two dogs (Vinny and Syrah) last weekend at the Woodland Hill Winery. Yes, they have it made. They are “winery dogs!”

Though the story is still in the concept-stage, I decided to start the process by doing a few quick sketches of the two dogs. As the sketches evolved, I decided to give them a little color and paint them. Then from there, I put them together in one image. I have titled the image “You Can’t Teach and Old Dog…” I thought the finished image was worth sharing. I will be sure to share the finished story once it’s done. Have a great week everybody! :)

You Can’t Teach an Old Dog…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2012 3:56 pm

    Your dogs = adorable!

  2. August 22, 2012 10:54 pm

    Oh, their faces are just too adorable!

  3. Marsha permalink
    August 30, 2012 6:02 pm

    Wow, you captured personalities, sounds like a great project, love that illustration, my niece & nephew have one who looks like the older one…and he also looks a little like Eileen’s Rusty. I don’t know how you can capture so much emotion in each one…good job!!!

Send a message to Scott

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

